Value of life

Dear world,

Yesterday was very interesting.  I’m taking a class on Jewish ethics and our topic yesterday was on suicide.  I was a bit hesitant about going but I was really interested in this topic.  Being on the edge so much lately I was looking to see the Jewish perspective.  It was a great class and it revolved around the idea of willfulness.  If the suicide was done willfully the family was not entitled to the normal religious burial rites.  But the great thing is that we try and find a way so that it is not considered willful.  If you’re not in the right state of mind, like me right now it is not considered willful.  Not a good thing for me to hear as this gives me validation on committing suicide.  It also says that debt and financial obligations are another way to say it is not willful.  It was a very interesting class and in my frame of mind this class just gave me permission to commit suicide.  Now I really need to find a purpose or reason to live as I feel so devalued.

Sincerely yours

Trying to find value

2 thoughts on “Value of life

  1. All people have value. Many major religions (or just mainly some people) think that if you commit suicide you will go straight to hell. I have never thought this. I don’t think God would punish someone who has an illness that distorts their thinking and makes their life too painful to live another moment. But that is no reason to go off and kill oneself. If you’re suicidal, please reach out for help to someone you trust so you can get the help you need. If you kill yourself it would be terrible and you would leave a devastation behind that you have no idea of. Take my word for it. My 23 year old daughter took her own life 4-11-13. No one ever knew she was depressed, she didn’t show it, she never sought help. I wish you well. Please get professional help for yourself. I have depression too so I know how it feels. And when I say that, I mean it. I’ve been there too.

  2. I’m praying for you sister.

    May you find joy, substance, a reason to live..

    I would like to add, regarding you now feeling it wouldn’t be “willful”, it is now pre-meditated, you have found this “excuse”, but no matter what it is termed, God knows our hearts, He knows every thought.
    He also loves you dearly, each hair on your head is numbered. You are worth so much to Him, you just don’t know it yet.

    Don’t be afraid to reach out to somebody, even just for encouragement. I left my email address here before, I may not have the right words to say, but I will listen to you, and I know there are others who will listen to you too. If you never need a friendly ear please don’t hesitate to email me.

    I have also felt a deep despair at times, but I’ve been brought through it, as have many others I know.
    Reach out sister, you are dearly loved, and your life is absolutely worth living, you’ll realize that again soon.

Leave a Reply

